Are restaurant owners particularly nasty in the UK?

I'm not in this industry personally, but my GF is, and the things she tells me from her current and previous jobs including various neglecting of employment laws, such as no contract specific for 48+ hours but just forced to do the unpaid OT, no breaks or breaks have to be taken on premise, gross negligence by head chefs such as making or even just allowing someone who has severely cut his hand to continue work, inhumane and not food-safe illness policies, tight limits on how often you can be ill in a year, making staff work morning shifts following evening shifts despite knowing it is illegal etc. I know where I am from these are things that would cause the restaurants to be blocked for delivery of necessary goods and commodities by the union in charge – how come here they get to treat the staff like animals?

I was surprised about this being common in restaurants, considering where I work none of these things take place at all, and my working conditions are nothing short of brilliant, and I work a simple office job in financial services that requires no qualifications whatsoever other than being able to move or talk (although not even the former due to anti-discrimination policies).

eBay reps the UK proudly! ++ Original post here

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started